Home » post » Bipartisan coalition urges Congress to make CRS reports available

Our mission

Free Government Information (FGI) is a place for initiating dialogue and building consensus among the various players (libraries, government agencies, non-profit organizations, researchers, journalists, etc.) who have a stake in the preservation of and perpetual free access to government information. FGI promotes free government information through collaboration, education, advocacy and research.

Bipartisan coalition urges Congress to make CRS reports available

A bipartisan coalition of 40 organizations and 91 private citizens urged Congress to make non-confidential CRS reports widely available to the public. The organizations signing the letter include AALL, ALA, ARL, and FGI.

List of organizations and individuals that signed the letter:

American Association of Law Libraries, American Civil Liberties Union, American Library Association, Association of Research Libraries, Bill of Rights Defense Committee, California State University San Marcos, Cause of Action, Center for Democracy and Technology, Center for Effective Government, Center for Media and Democracy, Center for Responsive Politics, Citizens Against Government Waste, Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington, Congressional Data Coalition, Data Transparency Coalition, Defending Dissent Foundation, Demand Progress, Engine, Essential Information, Federation of American Scientists, Freedom Works, Free Government Information, Government Accountability Project, Middlebury College Library, Minnesota Coalition On Government Information, National Coalition for History, National Security Archive, National Security Counselors, National Taxpayers Union, NewFields Research Library, Niskanen Center, OpenTheGovernment.org, Project on Government Oversight, Public Citizen, R Street Institute, Sunlight Foundation, Taxpayers for Common Sense, Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC) at Syracuse University, Union of Concerned Scientists, Western Illinois University Libraries


Amy Spare; Andrew Lopez, Connecticut College; Barbara Jones; Ben Amata, California State University Sacramento; Ben Doherty; Bernadine Abbott Hoduski, Professional Staff Member, Joint Committee on Printing, retired; Bert Chapman, Purdue University Libraries; Bill Olbrich; Bradley Seybold; Brandon Burnette, Southeastern Oklahoma State University; Brenda Ellis; BWS Johnson; Carol Bredemeyer; Carrie Russell; Christine Alvey, Maryland State Archives; Claire King, Kansas Supreme Court Law Library; Crystal Davidson, King College; Daniel Barkley, University of New Mexico; Danya Leebaw; Dave Morrison, Marriott Library, University of Utah; Deborah Melnick, LLAGNY; Dianne Oster; Donna Burton, Union College; Dorothy Ormes; Edward Herman; Eileen Heaser, CSUS Library; Ellen Simmons; Eric Mill; Francis Buckley, former Superintendent of Documents, US Government Printing Office; Gail Fithian; Gail Whittemore; Genevieve Nicholson; Helen Burke; Jacque Howell; Jane Larrington; Janetta Paschal; Jeanette Sparks; Jennifer Pesetsky; JoAnne Deeken; Joy T. Pile, Middlebury College; Judith Downie; Julia Hughes; Karen Heil, Government Information Librarian, Middletown Thrall Library; Karen Russ; Kathleen L. Amen; Kathy Carmichael; KC Halstead; Kelly McGlynn; Kristine R. Kreilick; LaRita Schandorff; Larry Romans; Laura G. Harper; Linda Johnson, University of New Hampshire; Lois Fundis, Mary H. Weir Public Library; Lori Gwinett; Lori L. Smith; Louise Buckley, University of New Hampshire Library; Louise England; Marna Morland; Mamita Simpson, University of Virginia Law Library; Mary Anne Curlee; Mary Jo Lazun; Megan Brooks; Melissa Pinch; Michael J. Malbin, Professor of Political Science, SUNY Albany; Michele Hayslett, UNC at Chapel Hill; Mike Lynch; Mohamed Haian Abdirahman; Norman Ornstein; P. Duerr; Patricia J. Powell, Government Documents Librarian, Roanoke College Library; Professor Patricia B.M. Brennan; Rachel H. Carpenter, Reference Government Documents Librarian, Rhode Island College; Rebecca Richardson; Robert Sippel, Florida Institute of Technology; Rosemary Campagna; Sandy Schiefer, University of Missouri – Columbia; Schuyler M. Cook; Scott Casper; Shari Laster; Stephanie Braunstein; Stephen Hayes, Hesburgh Libraries, University of Notre Dame; Susan Bucks, Monmouth University; Susan Udry; Tammy Savinski; Taylor Fitchett; Thomas E. Hickman; Thomas E. Mann; Victoria Mitchell; Wendy Swanberg; Wilhelmina Randtke.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.